Brevity

Brevity is the soul of wit. Undoubtedly, writing as much as you need and no longer is a good rule to go by, and I am going to make a greater effort in this regard, as we move onward (and in my code too!), or at least break my posts into readable multi-part posts.

Ok, so here is today’s technical post.

Error Driven Development

Our instructor mentioned the term, ‘error driven development’ during today’s lecture and it’s really resonated. Throughout the rails process, every step is checked by rails and any slight deviation produces an error. I think that as a learner, making mistakes is crucial in learning what the rules are, and as an approach, perhaps error driven development may not be the worst way to code (for now at least).

Taking a Step Back 

Towards the end of today, I also realized that I didn’t really quite grasp what a server is and what a framework is when we talk about “the rails framework” or “the rails server”. I think we all have a fuzzy idea of the concept, but it is important to at least try to understand what we mean when we say these words.

and a bonus side note….

On a side note, I was going through my old field gear and found some medium sized, thick-plastic sample bags. As it turns out, these are the perfect size for my mac book and case(s), for extra protection on rainy days! Freezer bags may also work, will need to check at some point!

 

Leave a comment